full screen background image

Clare Secondary Schools’ Cross Country Championships Success for St. Joseph’s

St. Joseph’s students from 1st Year to 4th Year took part in the Clare Secondary Schools’ Cross Country Championships last Thursday November 12th.  The event was held in the Lee’s Road Complex in Ennis.
Our minor girls were first to run - Cliodhna Ryan, Rebeca Keane and Gillian Donnellan put in great performances on a very windy day.      
Next team up were our minor boys – with a very successful third place victory, winning bronze medals for the team.  These boys were led home by Adam O’ Neill in 13th position, closely followed by Jimmy O’Gorman in 15th position and then Ben Ryan, Liam McInerney, Dan Withycombe and AJ Reynolds.
Ciara Halpin had a great individual performance in the junior girls race, finishing in a very impressive 5th  position, followed by Caoimhe Kelly, Maeve Moroney, Nessa Flynn, Leah Molloy, Sarah Bergquist and Ella Clayson.  These girls won bronze medals in the team event.
Fintan Caulfield in 1st year finished the junior boys race in 9th position, followed closely by Paddy Donnellan, Cormac Murphy and Enda Madden.  This ensured a third place victory in the team event, the other team members being Cian Mulqueen, Luke Meade, Christopher Notre, Joe O’Sullivan.  Also running in this race were Jonah Bartelink, William Corbett, Andrew Conheady, Shane Nolan and Shane Regan.
In the intermediate girls race Aoife Vaughan, Eilis Whitney, Sinead Conlon and Aoibh O’Reilly put in fantastic performances guaranteeing themselves a strong second team place and silver medals for these girls.
In the intermediate boys event Sean Cahill ran a superb race to take 2nd place, with strong performances also by Sean Murphy in 6th place and Cian O’Callaghan (10th).  David Meehan, John Duggan, Cathal Browne, Feargal Kearney and Padraig Cahill also finished well. These great performances from the boys led to a gold medal in the team event.  The other intermediate boys running were Keith Donnellan, Ben Purcell, Stephen Donnellan, Colm McInerney, Alan O’Dea, Paul Kelleher, Brian McSweeney, Niall Queally and Liam Hogan.
We are so proud of all of our athletes as their great performances on a wet and windy November day led to St. Joseph’s taking second place in the Best Overall School for the “Tully Cup” 2016.  Well done to all our runners!
We are now looking forward to the North Munster Schools’ Competition to be held in Pallaskenry in January.



twitter share
© 2022 St Josephs Tulla   |  Joomla Templates by Joomzilla.com
Back to Top